beef - Frequently asked questions

Do you give your cattle antibiotics?

Our ranchers only use antibiotics when medically necessary to ensure the health of the animal, in the same way that most doctors recommend the use of antibiotics for people.

What does your “100% Pure Beef Guarantee” really mean?

Our 100% Pure Beef Guarantee means that all of our beef is raised without any added hormones or steroids and comes from ranchers who are committed to being leaders in sustainable production. We use only 100% beef for our patties and add absolutely nothing else. No additives. No preservatives. Just beef.

What do you feed your cattle?

All of our cattle are fed a fully vegetarian diet. Typically, our cattle enjoy a mix of different grains and grass.

Does your beef supply go through verifications or audits?

We ensure that all our suppliers provide documentation to confirm that all of their supply meets our specifications. We audit all facilities that handle our beef and they are also audited by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency or equivalent regulatory agencies as well as third-party auditors to ensure ethical and humane treatment of the animals.

Have you changed the taste of your burgers?

We know that Canadians have loved the A&W Burger Family since 1956. That’s why we’ve never changed a thing about our recipe, other than using beef that’s been raised without any added hormones or steroids.

Which A&W burgers contain this beef?

The whole Burger Family — from Baby to Uncle® to Grandpa® — contains 100% pure beef, raised without any added hormones or steroids.

What should I do if I have more questions?

Think we missed something? We’re happy to answer all your questions about our beef at guarantee@aw.ca.

What is different about your chicken?

We are very proud to be the first and only national fast food restaurant serving chicken raised without the use of antibiotics.

Are your chicken burgers made with real chicken?

Absolutely! All of our chicken strips and burgers use 100% real seasoned white chicken breast.

I thought antibiotics were banned in chickens?

Antibiotics are not banned, but chicken and egg farmers across Canada have voluntarily stopped the preventative use of Category 1 antibiotics. Category 1 antibiotics are those that are the most important for use in human medicine. Other antibiotics are approved for use in the raising of livestock in Canada.

If chickens get sick and require the use of antibiotics, they will be treated, but they will not be included in the supply to A&W. Instead of using antibiotics, our chicken farmers take other measures to prevent diseases such as maintaining very strict hygiene rules, adapting the chickens’ feed, and limiting the size of the flock.

Are your chickens raised using hormones and steroids?

No chicken in Canada is raised with hormones or steroids. The use of hormones and steroids in chicken production has been banned in Canada since the 1960s.

Where do you source your chicken from? Is it Canadian?

Yes, our chicken comes from Canadian chicken farms.

Why are antibiotics typically used for raising chickens?

Antibiotics are typically injected into the egg and added to the feed in low dosages in order to prevent disease within the chickens and to promote health. In Canada, the antibiotics commonly used to help raise chickens have been approved by the Veterinary Drugs Directorate of Health Canada.

How are your chickens raised?

Raising chickens without antibiotics means that all of our farmers have to ensure that they employ the very best practices in managing every aspect of care for their chickens. We are committed to raising our chickens humanely, and we are proud of the practices our farmers employ—which includes reducing the number of chickens in each barn to allow for more freedom of movement and for easy access to food and water. Our chickens are fed a special grain based diet that does not include animal by-products, and is formulated for optimum health. Each of our chicken barns receive independent, third party audits that focus on overall flock health, and good air quality, climate and lighting conditions.

To learn more about A&W's leadership position on animal welfare, click here.

What standards do you have for euthanasia?

The animal welfare standards we set and audit for are based on scientifically supported humane practices. These include standards for euthanasia. Controlled atmosphere stunning allows for less bird handling at the end of life and is being implemented in our standards.

What’s different about these eggs?

Our eggs are from hens fed a vegetarian diet without animal by-products.

What do you feed the hens that produce your eggs?

Their diet is an all-vegetarian mix of grains and seeds such as flax, corn, wheat, barley and soy. It is high in fibre and contains no medications, antibiotics or animal by-products. Their feed has also been enriched with vitamins D, E and B12, as well as folacin.

Do the eggs taste different?

We’re really proud of how great our eggs taste and some people have told us they taste better than other eggs they eat. Our guests have told us that they prefer eggs fed a vegetarian diet with no animal by-products and we're proud to meet that standard.

Are the hens housed in cages?

Yes. Our hens are housed in cages designed to provide a clean environment, fresh food, and water. Because our Canadian climate is so variable, most hens are housed within temperature-controlled laying barns. Over 90% of eggs in Canada come from conventional-style cages, but we are proud to commit to sourcing 100% of our A&W eggs from enriched-colony-housing. These housing systems are bigger than conventional cages, giving the hens more space, and allowing for small social groups in controlled environments. Hens have access to fresh food and water as well as nests, perches, and scratching areas at all times.

Our laying hens are all raised and cared for by Canadian egg farmers, who meet or exceed all standards and guidelines of the Egg Farmers of Canada’s own Animal Care Program developed by veterinarians, scientists, the Canadian Federation of Humane Societies and the CFIA.

Why isn't A&W using cage-free eggs?

No national quick service restaurant is serving cage-free eggs now or in the near future. There simply aren’t enough available. We felt it was important to improve quickly, so we worked closely with our farmers and transitioned from conventional to 100% enriched-colony-housing. Although these eggs cost us a bit more, we think the investment is worthwhile.

How fresh are they?

Our eggs are delivered to every restaurant at least once a week to ensure they’re as fresh as possible.

Are your egg-laying hens given antibiotics?

In Canada, every chick raised to become an egg-laying hen receives a small amount of antibiotics to give her the best possible start and a healthy life. After that, hens that lays eggs for A&W cannot be fed or given antibiotics.

Of course, if the laying hen becomes sick, we believe she should be treated as needed, which includes the use of antibiotics when necessary. But, by our specification, her eggs would no longer be served in our restaurants.

We know it's important to many Canadians to avoid antibiotics, and we will continue to look for ways to eliminate them entirely.

What should I do if I have more questions?

Think we missed something? We’re happy to answer all of your questions about our eggs at guarantee@aw.ca.

What is different about your pork?

All of our pork products—including our bacon, sausage links and sausage patties—come from pork raised without the use of antibiotics.

What is in your bacon recipe?
What does "nothing artificial" mean, and does the bacon contain nitrates or nitrites?

We do not add artificial preservatives such as artificial nitrates or nitrites to our bacon. We only use naturally occurring preservatives: salt and cultured celery extract. Cultured celery extract contains naturally occurring nitrites.

I thought antibiotics were banned for use with pigs in Canada?

Antibiotics are not banned for use in pigs raised for their meat in Canada. However, our pork products only come from pork raised without the use of antibiotics.

What happens if one of your pigs gets sick? Are they given antibiotics?

If an animal gets sick, our farmers will work with veterinarians to consider all treatment options to protect animal health and welfare. If antibiotics are required, the animal will be treated but will not supply A&W.

Are your pigs given hormones or steroids?

No, our pigs are not given hormones or steroids. This is the same for all pork in Canada.

Do you use gestation crates?

Animal welfare is a top concern for A&W, and we only work with farmers who treat their pigs compassionately and responsibly. We are committed to phasing out gestation crates, but are not there just yet. We currently use a combination of open housing and gestation crates with more of our farms being converted to crate-free each year.

Where are your pigs raised?Where is your bacon from?

All of our pigs are raised in Canada.

We’re proud to say that all of the bacon we serve in our Québec A&W restaurants comes from Québec farmers. These farmers work throughout the entire province, respecting both our standards and our customers’ expectations. Because we know our customers are always looking for even better ingredients.

beef - Foire aux questions

Donnez-vous des antibiotiques à votre bétail?

Nos éleveurs utilisent des antibiotiques seulement quand c’est médicalement nécessaire, afin d’assurer la santé de l’animal, tout comme les médecins le font pour les gens.

Que signifie vraiment cette garantie « pur bœuf »?

Notre garantie « Bœuf pur à 100 % » signifie que tout notre bœuf est élevé sans ajout d’hormones ou de stéroïdes et provient d’éleveurs qui se sont engagés à être des leaders en matière de production durable. Nous utilisons uniquement du bœuf pur à 100 % pour nos burgers et n’ajoutons absolument rien d’autre. Aucun additif. Aucun agent de conservation. Seulement du bœuf.

De quoi nourrissez-vous votre bétail?

Tous nos bovins ont une alimentation exclusivement végétarienne. Ils profitent en général d’un mélange d’herbe et de grains.

Vos fournisseurs de bœuf sont-ils soumis à un système de vérification ou de certification?

Nous faisons une vérification rigoureuse de tous les aspects de la vie de chaque animal, de la ferme à nos restaurants. Ceci nous assure que toutes les directives réglementaires sont respectées et que toute la viande que nous servons est à la hauteur de nos normes et de nos spécifications.

Avez-vous changé le goût de vos burgers?

Nous savons bien que les Canadiens adorent la Famille Burger A&W, et ce, depuis 1956. C’est pourquoi nous n’avons jamais rien changé à notre recette originale et utilisons maintenant du bœuf élevé sans ajout d’hormones ou de stéroïdes.

Lequel des burgers A&W contient ce bœuf?

La Famille Burger™ au grand complet, du Bébé au Grand-papa, en passant par l’Oncle, contient du bœuf pur à 100 %, élevé sans l’ajout d’hormones ou de stéroïdes.

Que dois-je faire si j’ai d’autres questions?

Nous avons oublié quelque chose? Nous sommes toujours heureux de répondre à toutes vos questions sur notre bœuf à garantie@aw.ca.

En quoi votre poulet est-il différent?

Nous sommes vraiment fiers d’être la première et seule chaîne de restauration rapide au Canada à servir du poulet élevé sans antibiotiques.

Est-ce que vos burgers au poulet sont faits de vrai poulet?

Absolument! Tous nos burgers et toutes nos languettes de poulet sont faits à 100% de poitrine de poulet assaisonnée.

Je croyais que les antibiotiques étaient interdits dans l’élevage de poulet.

Les antibiotiques ne sont pas interdits mais les producteurs d’œufs et de poulet à travers le pays ont volontairement arrêté l’utilisation d’antibiotiques de catégorie 1. Les antibiotiques de catégorie 1 sont les plus utilisés en médecine humaine. D’autres antibiotiques sont approuvés et peuvent être utilisés au Canada.

Est-ce que vos poulets reçoivent des hormones et des stéroïdes?

Aucun poulet élevé au Canada ne reçoit d’hormones ou de stéroïdes. L’utilisation d’hormones et de steroïdes a été interdite dans l’élevage de poulet pendant les années 1960.

D’où vient votre poulet? Du Canada?

Oui, notre poulet provient d’élevages canadiens.

Comment vos poulets sont-ils élevés? Sont-ils en cage?

Nos poulets sont élevés de façon humaine dans de grands poulaillers afin de leur donner de l’espace pour se déplacer et un libre accès à l’eau et à l’air frais.

Pourquoi les antibiotiques sont-ils normalement utilisés dans l’élevage de poulet?

Les antibiotiques sont normalement injectés dans l’œuf et ajoutés à leur nourriture à faible dosage afin de prévenir les maladies et de maintenir la santé du poulet. Au Canada, les antibiotiques utilisés dans l’élevage de poulet ont été approuvés par la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires de Santé Canada.

En quoi vos œufs sont-ils différents?

Nos œufs proviennent de poules nourries de manière végétarienne, sans sous-produits animaux.

Quelle alimentation reçoivent les poules qui pondent vos œufs?

Nos poules sont nourries d’un mélange de grains totalement végétarien incluant des grains de lin, de maïs, de blé, d’orge et de soya. Cette alimentation a une forte teneur en fibres, ne contient aucun antibiotique, sous-produit animal ou médicament. Leur nourriture est également enrichie de vitamines, D, E, B12 et de folacine.

Est-ce que vos œufs ont un goût différent?

Nous sommes vraiment fiers de l’excellent goût de nos œufs. Certaines personnes disent qu’ils goûtent meilleur que les autres et qu’elles préfèrent les œufs de poules nourries de manière végétarienne, sans sous-produits animaux.

Est ce que les poules vivent dans des cages?

Oui. Nos poules vivent dans des cages conçues pour leur offrir un environnement propre, de la nourriture et de l’eau fraîche ainsi qu’une protection contre les prédateurs. Parce que le climat canadien varie énormément, la plupart des poules vivent dans des poulaillers à température contrôlée. Au Canada, plus de 90 % des œufs sont produits dans des cages dites traditionnelles, mais nous sommes heureux de dire que la majorité des œufs offerts chez A&W proviennent de cages aménagées. Les poules ont donc beaucoup plus d’espace, peuvent socialiser, se percher librement et pondre leurs œufs dans des aires de nidification. Nous nous engageons à ce que toutes nos poules vivent dans de tels poulaillers d’ici la fin de 2016.

Nos poules pondeuses proviennent d’élevages canadiens qui rencontrent ou dépassent les normes exigées par le Programme national de soins aux animaux développé par des vétérinaires, des scientifiques, la Fédération des sociétés canadiennes d’assistance aux animaux et l’ACIA.

Pourquoi A&W n’utilise pas des œufs provenant de poules élevées sans cage?

Aucune chaîne nationale de restauration rapide ne sert actuellement, ou ne servira a dans un avenir rapproché, des œufs provenant de poules élevées sans cage, car il n’y en pas assez de disponibles. Nous croyons qu’il était important d’apporter un changement rapide, voilà pourquoi nous avons travaillé étroitement avec nos éleveurs pour passer, en moins de deux ans, des cages traditionnelles aux cages aménagées. Nos œufs coûtent un peu plus cher, mais nous pensons que l’investissement en vaut le coût.

Est-ce que vos œufs sont frais?

Oui. Nos œufs sont livrés à chacun de nos restaurants au moins une fois par semaine pour s’assurer d’avoir les œufs les plus frais possible.

Est-ce que vos poules pondeuses reçoivent des antibiotiques?

Au Canada, tout poussin élevé en vue de devenir une poule pondeuse reçoit une très petite dose d’antibiotiques à la naissance afin de lui donner le meilleur départ possible et une vie en santé. Par la suite, les poules produisant des œufs pour A&W ne reçoivent ou n’ingèrent aucun autre antibiotique.

Bien sûr, si une poule tombe malade, nous croyons qu’elle doit être soignée et recevoir des antibiotiques si nécessaire. Mais afin de respecter nos standards, ses œufs ne seront plus servis dans nos restaurants.

Nous savons qu’il est important pour de nombreux Canadiens d’éviter les antibiotiques, et nous allons continuer à chercher comment les éliminer complètement.

Que dois-je faire si j’ai d’autres questions?

Nous avons oublié quelque chose? Nous sommes toujours heureux de répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos œufs à garantie@aw.ca.

En quoi votre porc est-il différent?

Tous nos produits à base de porc, comme le bacon et les saucisses, proviennent de porcs élevés sans antibiotiques.

Quelle est la recette de votre bacon?
Est-ce que votre bacon contient des nitrates ou nitrites?

Nous n’ajoutons aucun agent de conservation artificiel à notre bacon, comme des nitrates ou des nitrites artificiels. Nous utilisons seulement des agents de conservation d’origine naturelle comme le sel et la poudre de céleri de culture. La poudre de céleri de culture contient des nitrites d’origine naturelle.

Les antibiotiques ne sont-ils pas déjà interdits dans l’élevage de porcs au Canada?

Non, au Canada, les antibiotiques ne sont pas interdits sur les porcs élevés pour leur viande. Cependant, notre bacon provient exclusivement de porcs élevés sans antibiotiques.

Qu’arrive-t-il si un porc tombe malade? Allez-vous lui donner des antibiotiques?

Si un animal tombe malade, nos éleveurs feront appel à un vétérinaire pour considérer toutes les options de traitement possibles afin de protéger la santé et le bien-être de la bête. Si les antibiotiques font partie de son traitement, l’animal les recevra, mais sa viande ne sera pas servie chez A&W.

Est-ce que vos porcs reçoivent des hormones ou des stéroïdes?

Nos porcs ne reçoivent pas d’hormones ou de stéroïdes. Il en est de même pour tous les porcs élevés au Canada.

Utilisez-vous des cages de gestation?

Le bien-être des animaux est une priorité pour A&W et nous travaillons seulement avec des éleveurs qui traitent leurs porcs avec compassion et de façon responsable. Nous nous sommes engagés à retirer toutes les cages de gestation de nos élevages, mais il s’agit d’un long processus. Actuellement, nous utilisons une combinaison d’élevages sans cages de gestation et d’autres avec cages de gestation. Par contre, chaque année, de plus en plus de fermes sont converties vers la méthode sans cages.

Où sont élevés vos porcs?D’où vient votre bacon?

Tous nos porcs sont élevés au Canada.

Nous sommes fiers de dire que tout le bacon servi dans les restaurants A&W du Québec vient du Québec. Les éleveurs de porc avec qui nous faisons affaires à la grandeur de la province respectent nos standards ainsi que les attentes de nos clients québécois qui sont toujours à la recherche de vrais bons aliments.